A Question About Pencils

Discuss all topics related to sketching

Moderator:mdmattin

Harry
one of the regulars
A Question About Pencils

Post by Harry » Sat Feb 16, 2019 12:11 am

Hi. I am fairly new to sketching in pencil but I have done a bit in ink.
I am just bewildered by the number of pencil types, brands and price range. I finally settled on a 32 piece kit from eBay. Having got it I realize that most of the products I will probably never use. But we live and learn.

Anyway, my question regarding graphite pencils is this: No, I have 2 questions.

1. Is there any really difference in the quality of one pencil brand over another? It seems to me that both the cheap brands and the premium brands do the same thing; make a grey mark on the paper. What do I get if I pay the extra?

2. This is really question 3, oh well. What is a carbon pencil? I wanted a refill for my 2mm clutch pencil and the refills are all carbon, not graphite. I don't understand this.

thanks in advance to anyone who can help me out with these queries.

Cheers

mdmattin
one of the regulars

Re: A Question About Pencils

Post by mdmattin » Sat Feb 16, 2019 12:59 am

Hi Harry,
Welcome to the Sketching Forum!

About pencils - there are differences in quality for different brands and price ranges. However, you can certainly make a great drawing with an ordinary office type pencil. The differences will become more apparent as you develop your skills and your own style. I find that there are certain pencils that work really well for specific kinds of work that I do, and I am happy to pay a premium for a fine tool.

There are other pencils that I hate, but someone else might love. Your 32 piece kit offers a good opportunity to sample different kinds and get a feel for which pencils work for which sorts of tasks.